Unemployment Extension Bill: Senators Who Voted Against Bill

[caption id="attachment_776" align="alignleft" width="300" caption="Unemployment Extension Bill"]Unemployment Extension Bill[/caption] The unemployment extension bill was passed by a vote of 60-40 in the Senate yesterday afternoon. With widespread demand from the millions of jobless Americans for the bill to be passed, 40 Senators still voted "Nay" despite some of them representing states with high levels of unemployment. The 40 Senators who voted against the unemployment extension bill are:- Alexander (R-TN) Barrasso (R-WY) Bennett (R-UT) Bond (R-MO) Brown (R-MA) Brownback (R-KS) Bunning (R-KY) Burr (R-NC) Chambliss (R-GA) Coburn (R-OK) Cochran (R-MS) Corker (R-TN) Cornyn (R-TX) Crapo (R-ID) DeMint (R-SC) Ensign (R-NV) Enzi (R-WY) Graham (R-SC) Grassley (R-IA) Gregg (R-NH) Hatch (R-UT) Hutchison (R-TX) Inhofe (R-OK) Isakson (R-GA) Johanns (R-NE) Kyl (R-AZ) LeMieux (R-FL) Lugar (R-IN) McCain (R-AZ) McConnell (R-KY) Murkowski (R-AK) Nelson (D-NE) Risch (R-ID) Roberts (R-KS) Sessions (R-AL) Shelby (R-AL) Thune (R-SD) Vitter (R-LA) Voinovich (R-OH) Wicker (R-MS) The vast majority of the Senators belong to the GOP, but one lone Democrat Senator, Ben Nelson of Nebraska, also voted against the bill. Thankfully for the unemployed masses waiting for this bill to be passed, 2 Republican Senators (Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins) continued to vote for the unemployment extension bill and together with the additional vote from newly sworn-in Senator Carte Goodwin, this was enough to bust the filibuster.